I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

A Diva is Born…

She's a keeper. 9 pounds 8.4 ounces

Snakes and snails, and puppy dog tails, that’s what little boys are made of.  Sugar and spice and all that’s nice; that’s what little girls are made of.

Lisa and I knew that about boys.  We had two of them.  Ethan was almost 5, and Mason was about 3 1/2 when we decided to add another one to our brood. We had just moved to Illinois and had decided we wanted to expand our family.  Lisa was hoping for a third boy, I wanted a little girl.  Growing up I always wanted a sister and never had one.  So daughter would be great.
Lisa got pregnant in late December 2004.  And we decided (she did, really) that we weren’t going to find out the gender of the baby.  I was on pins and needles with anticipation.  Seriously.   I examined the 4D ultra sound pics, but besides a fat little face, I could tell what our baby was.  That’s probably in part because the tech didn’t get any shots that would let the cat out of the bag.

Big brother Ethan meets his baby sister

Lisa’s projected due date was September 21st.  That morning, she went to the doctor and was told it was probably a good idea to head to the hospital.  She came home first and we made arrangements to get the boys picked up from school and put the grandparents on standby.  Since we were living closer to St. Louis, they could all make the trip pretty easily.  Even when the boys were born, all three sets trekked the 5 hours to Indiana to see their new grandbabies.

MeMaw (my mom) was the first to arrive (my dad was stuck at work).  She sat in the room with us and kept the boys entertained too.  It was early afternoon and it seemed like not much was happening.  That’s because there wasn’t much happening.  This even after inducing labor.  I don’t remember all the particulars, but time was almost at a standstill.
As the day went on, the rest of the grandparents arrived.
Dinner time came and went.  I remember watching a story on the news about a plane having a wheel stuck and it couldn’t land.  This was also about the same time as Hurricane Rita.  One of my good friends was living in Houston at the time, and I had finally heard from him that he was safe.  This was long before Facebook for me and the iPhone, so I relied more on the TV for information.

The Hunsperger Five

As the night wore on, I walked to the waiting room, which had 3 sets of grandparents and 2 anxious soon to be big brothers.  Ethan had told me he was hoping for a baby sister.  Mason wanted a baby brother.  He said “If it’s a girl, I’ll kick her.”  Remember, he had just turned 4 at this point.

Finally, the hour had come.  The doctor (who was a resident, being supervised) said it was time to deliver.  By this point it was almost
11:30 p.m.  Nearly 12 hours we had waited for this moment.  Really, 9 months, but who’s counting?
Lisa pushed and I stood by and encouraged just like I always do.  A short time later, the doctor pulled the baby out.  Of course she was face down at the time and all I remember seeing was her hairy little back. Seriously, she looked like a little monkey.  It was more peach fuzz than hair I guess though.  Then once she was flipped over all my hopes had come true.  I had my little girl.  Literally, I was speechless.  Lisa had no idea what the gender was.  I remember hearing her voice, asking and that’s what brought  me back to reality.

Celebrating #5 with some fries.

Our little princess/diva made our family complete.  The boys love her and watch out for her, although Mason likes to annoy her.  But he’s never kicked her.  At least not in front of me.
So, 5 years later, I wish my baby girl the happiest of birthdays.
3 Responses to “A Diva is Born…”

  1. Such a beautiful family Kevin!! 🙂

  2. Kevin, I always enjoy immensely reading your blogs…keep up the good work…J.F.

  3. Kevin-
    What a wonderfully written and touching sentiment to your daughter. You provide a special gift by sharing your feelings with others. Not all “Daddies” have the ability to do that. So…kudos to you Kevin! Happy 5th Birthday to your little girl. Our little girl, who is a true “Daddy’s Girl,”will be 5 in January!


Leave a Reply

