I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

To My Health

I think most people know that I am the “To Your Health” reporter at the station I work for in southern Illinois.  Each day, I report on different medical conditions.  Many times I get to meet people in our region who are battling diseases or doctors who are using new technology to make us all healthier.

I’m also a co chairman for the Southern Illinois Men’s Health Conference.  It’s a group aimed at getting men to break that “going to the doctor makes you weak” mentality.

Unfortunately, I was not taking my own advice.  That’s the point of this post.  I’m not going to get all graphic with the details, but I hope by sharing my story it might inspire other men to seek medical treatment sooner rather than later.

Let’s just say I’d been having some medical issues.  It was something I thought would pass.  But the situation only got worse as time went on.  So last week, I finally went to the doctor.  I was hoping a quick exam, he’d put my mind at ease, but instead, he told me I needed a colonoscopy.  What?!?  I’m only 37 years old.  I know most people don’t start getting them until after age 50.  Of course, I immediately started thinking the worse.  Not to mention I have a friend from college who is currently undergoing treatment for colon cancer.  She’s a year younger than me.

For one week, I agonized, fearing the worst of course.  I only told a handful of people what was going on, mostly because I didn’t want to get people worried if there was nothing to worry about.

Who’s had a colonoscopy before?  They say the prep work for it is worse than the procedure itself.  I’ll agree with that.  My last meal came Sunday night before bed.  Then on Monday, I could only have clear liquids, which luckily included some Jello.  I ate three boxes that day.  A whopping 240 calories for the entire day.  Well, there were some calories in the 64 ounces of Gatorade I had to drink.  But it wasn’t just straight Gatorade, it was mixed with Miralax.  If you don’t know what Miralax is or what it does, let’s just say it helps clean out the pipes.  (Sorry)  There were a couple of pills I had to take with it too.  I was instructed not to eat or drink anything after midnight.  My appointment wasn’t until 11:15 a.m. Tuesday, so as you can imagine, I was starving.  I packed myself two peanut butter and banana sandwiches, some carrots, and a diet Mt. Dew for when it was all over.

Once I got there, they got me all hooked up with the IV, and that’s when my inner dialogue took over.  Kinda like “Dexter”, but focused on the killing of other people.  No, my inner voice was preparing the rest of myself for the possibility of the doctor finding a polyp and worse yet, it being cancerous.  I started connecting the dots in my life and wondered if this was where I was headed.  The nurse commented after reading my chart, that I was “a healthy guy.”  That made me feel a little better, but still I worried.

Soon, I was taken back to the room for the probing.  The nurse told me I’d get “the good stuff”, but I’d still be conscious.  Ha.  The last thing I remember is the doctor asking how I felt, and I said “woozy” and then I was out.  I woke up about 45 minutes later in the recovery area.  The first thing I asked was if it was over.  The nurse said yes, and there were no polyps.  I was overjoyed.  Then I was even happier when she brought me a Nutragrain bar and a cup of water.

So, long story short, I’m okay.  Nothing to worry about.  But if you notice something isn’t right with yourself, have it checked out.  Especially before it turns into something.  Remember an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

3 Responses to “To My Health”

  1. So glad to hear that you got good news!! AMEN!

  2. Excellent advice, Kevin, and thanks for sharing your story. I’m sure there are plenty of us who need to hear it. I’m so glad you’re OK!


Leave a Reply

