I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

My Ultimate “To Do” List

Life can be funny sometimes.  Death makes you think more about life.  At least it does for me.  Yesterday I read about the untimely passing of Holiday World owner Will Koch.  He was only 48 years old.  That’s 11 years old than me.  Gary Coleman passed a couple of weeks ago, he was only five years older than me.

The thought of my own mortality has always haunted me.  Death is something I think about often.  I think this is in part to losing one of my

That's me in the back on the left, my friend Kevin on the right.

best friends when I was a child.  My friend Kevin lived down the street from me, and when we were 12 years old, he was killed in an accident on a 3 wheeler.  I think it’s safe to say I’ve never been the same since.  That was 25 years ago, but there are times when it seems like it was just yesterday.  The accident happened in a field at the end of our street.  And even though that field is now a shopping center, I’m reminded of that day every time I drive home to visit my parents who still live on that street.

But the focus of this blog isn’t going to be on death, but on life.  My life and the things I want to do before it comes to an end.  But hearing about people dying way too young always reminds me that there are things I want to and need to accomplish before I meet my maker.

Most are just plain silly, but they are things I would like to do.  So, here’s my  Ultimate To Do List.  Things that at I’d like to finish sooner rather than later.  But being a guy who puts the “pro” in procrastinator, I sometimes wonder if any of them will be complete.  Don’t laugh, here they are in no particular order…

Maybe my obsession for bagpipes started with "Rowdy" Roddy Piper...

1.  Learn to play the bagpipes.   This has been something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time.   I just really like the way the pipes sound.  I actually found someone here in southern Illinois who gives lessons and I inquired, but it’s quite costly.  You have to buy your own pipes, and then the lessons on top of that.  If I do learn to play, my goal would be to get good enough to play at events like funerals and ummmm, are there any other events that would require a bagpiper?  I’m kinda drawing a blank here.

I guess it’s not just learning to play the pipes, I would love to learn to play an instrument.  I tried and failed at playing the trombone and the saxophone in middle school.  I wish I could go back in time and refocus and learn to commit better.  My son recently gave up on the piano, and I hope he doesn’t regret that decision like I regret quitting on the saxophone.

2.  Get a tattoo. My wife is dead set against this one.  And admittedly, it’s something I should have done in my youth.  I haven’t decided on where I want it or even the design, I’m thinking something retro though.  And because of my job nothing that would be too easy to identify.  So nothing on my face or neck, ha ha.

3.  Get into tip top physical condition. This is something I’ve been struggling with.  I make some progress, then I end up regressing and in my mind failing.  I’ll stop working out, or start eating lots of things I shouldn’t.  I’m really trying to refocus my energy on reaching this goal.  In part because I want to look good, but I also want to be able to keep up with my kids as they get older and I want to live.  I believe if I’m healthier, I’ll be around longer, thus giving me more time to reach goals 1 & 2.

So there you have it.  A peek inside three things on my Ultimate To Do List.  There are more things I have in mind, but we’ll start with these three things.  I’m thinking by the time I’m 40 I would like to have accomplished all three.  I’d better get going, that’s only 1,005 days.  But who’s counting.

No Responses to “My Ultimate “To Do” List”

Leave a Reply

