I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

Dorkiest Moments, You Decide

I came to realize a long time ago that I am in fact a dork.  Or maybe a geek.  I’m not sure which.  But I definitely don’t think I’m a nerd.  There’s a reason why, nerds are smart.  Or at least in my world they are.  So after a recent experience with the Cub Scouts, I decide to relive some of my geekiest moments and let you, the reader decide which is the dorkiest or geekiest of all time.  Nominations are…

Do Your Best Man

1. Do Your Best Man

Let’s start with the most recent.  Earlier this week, I dressed up like a superhero for the Cub Scout Pack Meeting.  I’m the Cub Master and it’s my job to keep the kids entertained during the meeting.  This month’s theme was “Heroes” so I came up with the idea to get a phone call during the meeting.  I excused myself and let someone else take over.  In the meantime, I transformed myself into “Do Your Best” man.  I wore a white under armor shirt with a blue “DYB” on the chest.  A red vest with various scouting awards on it, a blue mask on my eyes and red jogging pants.  The kids enjoyed it, and I think the parents did too.  Nothing like making a fool of yourself in front of people you know.   But I can use the excuse that I was doing this one for the kids.  Even my own sons say they weren’t embarrassed, so at least I didn’t humiliate them.  Of course, they may be explaining all this to a therapist one day.

 

Hogan vs. Piper

2. Hulkamania is Running Wild…

 Most of the people who know me, already know that I’m a huge wrestling fan and that’s probably the biggest reason I’m such a geek (or dork).  But a fellow wrestling geek (Chad) helped really bring my inner geek to the forefront.  I used to watch wrestling on TV all the time.  Very rarely, I would go to a live show.  I never really had anyone to go with me, Lisa did when we were in college, but she tired of it quickly.  Then in 2004, when we moved to southern Illinois, I met others who loved wrestling as I did.  So every time Chad and I go to a live show, we dress in costume.  In 2009, we honored the main event of the first Wrestlemania by dressing up like Hulk Hogan and “Rowdy” Roddy Piper.  That’s me with my spindly little arms, pale legs, and glued on moustche trying to emulate the Hulkster.  It was fun and a lot of people stopped us for photos.  Going to Wrestlemania is kind of like trekkies heading to Comic-Con.  We’re all geeks, there are just different levels of geekiness being displayed.  

 

Ready to Rumble

3.  Luck of the Irish

Like I said, we like to dress up.  In 2008, we went to Orlando for Wrestlemania 24.  This costume was in honor of Hornswoggle, the leprechaun.  Not my favorite idea, but the costume was slightly over with the fans in attendance.  We actually ran into a group of guys that were dressed as Triple H, Shawn Michaels, and the Undertaker.  I wish I would have used my camera to capture that moment.  They were able to pull it off better than I ever have been.  Of course I always have fun at the event, but feel a little foolish walking around the hotel lobby, or gettting on public transportation dressed like this.  When we were in Houston, we ate lunch at Subway as Hogan and Piper and remember all the stares we got.  Oh well, what do you expect, huh?

 

Know When to Hold 'Em

 

4. Fold That Shirt…

So I’ve made some interesting fashion choices in the past.  I wasn’t going to bring this one up, but a Facebook friend suggested it, so we’ll put it up for your consideration.  Here I am in college, probably 20 or 21 years old in my “poker” shirt.  The girl with me is a friend, as Lisa was working on the night of this fraternity social.  Personally, I like the shirt.  “Bet” you don’t though. 🙂 

All Signs Point to Dork

I also had one with various road signs on it.  I don’t think Lisa ever cared much for those clothes.  I always thought they were stylish.  Of course what do I know, I’m a dork.  Now days, I mostly wear dress shirts and a tie because of work.  But I do like to just chill out in a sweatshirt or tshirt, depending on the season.  And don’t get me started on those glasses.  Geez, I think you could watch a movie on those lenses.  Folks, it’s amazing that I was actually in a relationship with someone at that time.  And the fact that she stuck around this long.

Udderly Ridiculous

5.  Don’t Have a Cow, Man!

Let’s stick with the college dorkiness.  I’m a founding father of the Mu Kappa chapter of Sigma Nu fraternity on the SEMO campus.  Part of our ritual was that we always dressed in a shirt and tie for chapter meetings.  For some reason, one night I decided to attend a meeting in a cow costume.  I had bought that costume for Halloween in 1993 when I was working at Chuck E. Cheese.   So of course the night I wore the cow suit, someone had a camera and snapped a pic.  I wore it a few more times, including our “Red Neck” party in 1995.  I still have that costume to this day and wore it on the Halloween show of our morning news in 2008.  Looking at the picture, you can pretty much tell they all know what a dork I am, but they like me anyway.

Nice Tail, huh?

 

6. Under the Sea

This moment may take the cake.  Fortunately, there are no pictures of how I looked the night before.  You see, I was Sigma Nu’s candidate in the Alpha Xi Delta “Queen of the Roses” pageant.   I had to dress up like a girl, do a talent (I sang a lame song I wrote), and do the Q & A thing.  Thank God there wasn’t a swim suit competition.  So the next night we had to dress up like a Disney princess.  My sponsor picked the Little Mermaid.  That’s a yarn wig and green cellophane wrap for my tail.  It was hard walking around like this.  I don’t even remember what we had to do in the costumes, just stand there and look lame I suppose.   

So I think I’ll leave it at that.  The top six.  Or at least the six that I have pictures for.  I’m sure there are many more that weren’t caught on film.  Please vote on your favorite.  I enjoyed every one of these moments and have learned to embrace my geekiness.  It’s something I used to be ashamed of, but now I’ll say it loud and proud, “I AM A GEEK!”

 
No Responses to “Dorkiest Moments, You Decide”

Leave a Reply

