I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

I’m Not Him

This blog is all in jest.  I’m having  a little fun with it.  Most of you who read this know that I work at WSIL TV.  I anchor the morning news.  I’ve been in that position for just over 5 years now.  I love my job and have a great time doing it.

Of course, whenever you’re on TV, people out in public tend to notice you and sometimes come up and say hello.  Most of the time, they say, “hi Kevin, we watch you all the time, you guys do a good job..yada yada yada.”  But on occasion I get, “Hey Edan.  We watch you every night.”  For those who many not know, Edan Schultz is our evening anchor.  He’s a great guy, a good friend, someone I respect and look up to (even though I’m three months older than him)

Those comments had stopped for a while, but now all the sudden they seem to be happening more often.  In fact, I was out on a story at the Marion VA on Thursday where there were lots of people running around.  I told my photographer, let’s see how many times I get called Edan.  He didn’t think I would at all, but sure enough, a guy came up to me and said, “Hey Edan” and shook my hand.  Normally, I don’t correct them, but he kept wanting to talk, so I said, “I’m Kevin” and then he said, “Oh yeah, Kevin Hunsperger.  I know you.”

That was the only Edan reference that day, but when we got back to the station, the intern up front working the telephones said this over the intercom “Caleb Hunsperger, line 1.”  So I answered the phone, “this is Caleb” and the guy on the other end was pretty confused, so I quickly played it off and said it was Kevin.  Everyone in the newsroom had a good laugh.

On Saturday, me and several other employees participated in the Murphysboro Apple Fest Parade.  We walked the street and threw candy to strangers.  Good times.  I told them, I guarantee you people will yell for Edan to throw them candy, even though he wasn’t there.  Before the parade even started, a restaurant owner, who I’ve had dinner at his restaurant, with Edan mind you, came up and shook my hand and said, “Edan, good to see you.”  I just played it off.   The guy who was driving our vehicle in the parade said he heard  a few people shout for Edan to throw them candy.  I didn’t hear them, but I had a good laugh.

So I wonder if people think we really do look that much alike or they just don’t pay attention or what.  It’s pretty funny, IMO.  At least they’re not calling me someone from the competition.

4 Responses to “I’m Not Him”

  1. LOL…what’s the deal? You two don’t look alike. I think the problem is that you have a lot in common (i.e. you are both thin, young, dark hair and on the news). Oh well, you could be mistaken for worse! If it’s any consolation, I get mistaken for Jessica Simpson all the time. 😉

  2. This was a really awesome post, Caleb. I mean Edan.

  3. I don’t think you guys look anything alike either. There are worse people to be confused for.I used to get confused with another girl at work when my hair was long. To see us together, we are nothing alike. She is like 8 inches taller than me, but apparently the blonde hair and the uniform can blur us together. My mom has even done it on more than one occasion…she called me one day to tell me she saw me in the paper at some crash scene and I was like “uh, yeah, that’s Chris again”. She actually argued with me!!! At least only strangers are confusing you for Edan!

  4. I had a few people on the mail route that got me and my brother mixed up. We were both letter carriers. He had a full head of hair and a full beard….I have no hair or no beard…and they got us mixed up…that was funny


Leave a Reply

