I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

Bonding Over Sweaty Men in Spandex

Probably not the most appropriate title for the blog, but once you read it, it will make sense.  Those who know me, know I’ve spent the last 25+ years of my life obsessed with wrestling.  Professional wrestling that is.  And before you start with the “that’s fake” argument, save it.  I view it as entertainment, so leave me alone.

I remember going to my first WWF match in December 1984.  It was a live house show at the old Arena in downtown St. Louis.  The building is no longer there, but my memories of that night will never fade.  I was in 6th grade then.  I had been watching wrestling on TV for about a year at that point and this was the first opportunity for us to go see it live.

The main event was Hulk Hogan (everyone knows who he is) vs. Brutus Beefcake.  I remember attending the matches with my dad, my brother, my Uncle Dan (RIP) Uncle Tom, and a group of friends.  Sorry I don’t remember everyone who was there, but I’m pretty sure Rick B. was one of them.

Anyway, I remember after each match, we would run to where the wrestlers went back to the dressing room, hoping to get a closer look or dare I say it, touch one of them.  We would then stay there until the start of the next match.  We saw all the greats that night, beside Hogan, Jimmy Snuka, Junkyard Dog (RIP), and Cowboy Bob Orton among others were there.

I’m bringing this up because despite my wife’s contempt for wrestling, I have continued to follow it and now my middle kid, Mason, 8, is into it too.  We even decorated part of his room like a ring.  It’s pretty cool actually.

Ready to Rumble

Ready to Rumble

Sunday was our first chance to go to a live WWE (they dropped the F a few years ago) show.  It was in Cape Girardeau at the Show Me Center (my old stomping grounds at Southeast Missouri State University; but that’s a story for another day)

Anyway, it was great watching the show with my boy.  Although he’s not as well versed in who’s who, he had fun.  He booed for the bad guys and cheered for the good guys, like a good little mark.  We got nachos and pizza and soda and candy.  I even bought him a T shirt and sweatbands.

I had a flashback that day remembering how much fun I had at that match in 1984.  Remembering spending time with my dad, brother, and now deceased uncle.  It made me feel good.  I’m hoping Mason looks back on that day and remembers it fondly too.  That is if Lisa hasn’t brain washed him to give up wrestling.  But if she does, I’ll still have my bromance partner, Chad.

One Response to “Bonding Over Sweaty Men in Spandex”

  1. I actually have a fondness for wrestling too. My grandfather, who passed away in 1995, watched it every Sunday. Andre the Giant was my favorite. I once asked him, “Does it bother you that wrestling is fake?”

    He replied, “No. It’s fun.”

    I thought at the time, this is coming from a man that watches American Bandstand on Satudays.

    So I’ll always associate wrestling with my grandpa.

    (Add my blog to your links on the sidebar, and I’ll put a link of your blog on mine. Some of my traffic will come your way!)


Leave a Reply

