I'm Just Sayin'
Random Thoughts from a Random Guy

Reunited and it Feels So Good

As I struggle to look for more meaningful topics to blog about, another story from my personal file.

Most of you who read this already know me.  You know that I’m addicted to the social networking site Facebook.  Before Facebook, I was a regular on myspace.  I still have an account there and check it out from time to time.

I think the reason I like Facebook so much is it’s allowed me to reconnect with some old friends and even become “friends” with people I didn’t know that well back in college or high school.  Case in point, I have found several folks who I knew of or was casual acquaintances with back in the day.  About two months ago, a handful of us from elementary school were able to meet for drinks and hang out in St. Louis.

4875_1162516669720_1431951633_30428124_5539113_nIt was a great experience.  Up until the part where I reached my limit.  But I’m not going there.  That’ll be a story for another blog.  I had a really nice time chatting and catching up.  For some of us, it had literally been graduation night that we last saw each other in person.  Now of course, with Facebook, we can “see” each other all the time.  But of course we’re not having the face to face conversations.

I think that reunion will hopefully lead to more gatherings and open up the door for more folks to attend.  I think there was only about nine or ten of us at the first one.  Of course, in two years, we’ll mark our 20 year high school reunion.  I’m already looking forward to that and catching up with more friends and even making new ones.

I wonder how many of us on Facebook are friends with people from school that we didn’t really hang out with.  I know I am.  I also wonder if nearly 20 years later we’d be friends, if we were working in the same place or living in the same neighborhood.  I was the shy, geeky type in high school.  In all honesty, I still am today.  I’ve busted out of my shell a little bit, but I still take a while to warm up to new people.  I think that’s part of the reason why that night of the reunion I over indulged.

So to my friends from high school and college, if we haven’t hung out in a while or never really had a chance to meet one another, maybe we should do something about it.

Until next time…

5 Responses to “Reunited and it Feels So Good”

  1. Hey, I agree with you 100 percent on Facebook. I am having a similar experience. Whereas Myspace is filled with celebs and bands as well as friends casual and close, facebook seems to be filled with people you know or have known. I have come into contact and created a network between classmates and former co-workers as well as favorite customers from my store. Facebook also works well on dial-up, which opens it up to a lot more people.

    The blog is great so far Kevin. Always a pleasure to read what you have to say. You seem like a cool guy!

    Peace

  2. I find it odd how people want to add me as a “friend” yet we really didn’t know each other in school. And then there was one chick who had conflict with me in HS, that for some reason, wanted to add me as a friend. A lot of people just do that to get high numbers. I’m more of a “I’ll add you if I really knew you and actually liked you” person (or in your case, common interest). My question about it is why are they interested in me now when they weren’t before?

  3. Some of my “best” facebook friends are people that I only knew casually in highschool! Very few of my close highschool friends are even on FB–just a handful! I think we should attempt another “get together” REALLY soon. I had a ball seeing everyone in person…. 🙂

  4. You were a little shy that night Kev. I also overdid the “social lubricant” thing in order to mass anxiety. I kind of feel like I missed a chance to get to know you and the others. It was almost like I regressed back to high school behavior. I don’t know why. Until next time.

  5. To start earning money with your blog, initially use Google Adsense but gradually as your traffic increases, keep adding more and more money making programs to your site.


Leave a Reply

